Some New Comments on Open Access and Archaeology and Shameless Self-promotion

Posted on December 11, 2011

0


This came from the Assemblage journal RSS feed-

“…we’re bringing you a smorgasbord of features to tide you over for the festive season. We have a double State of the Arch update with two pieces on a similar theme. Patrcik Hadley discusses the issues surrouonding setting up Mesolithic Miscellany and the world of open access journals, while Doug Rocks-Maqueen questions whether commercial journals are really value for money at a time when so many organisations are willing to offer content to their readers for free.”

Ahhhh- Maqueen??? Last time I checked I spelled it with a “c” as in Macqueen. Oh well, I really don’t expect people to spell my name right anymore.They also spelled Patrick- Patrcik. I guess I now know how many of you readers of this blog must feel most of the time with my spelling.

That aside the articles are pretty good. I may be biased on this account but Patrick’s article is really good. If you want to find out more about Mesolithic Miscellany you can visit the website or Pat will be co-chairing the session entitled ‘Dr. Web-Love: Or, How I Learnt to Stop Worrying and Love Social Media’ at TAG 2011. He can be found on Twitter @PatHadley.

My article is a bit of a rehash of some of the posts I did here. Basically, I challenge the notion that commercial publishers provide any sort of “quality” for the money they charge to read their archaeology journals. Check it out if you want.

 

 

Posted in: Publishing