#BlogArch- From Good to Meh

Posted on January 4, 2014

2


My turn to answer December’s question for the #BlogArch carnival (There is still time to post for December as I don’t do summaries till the 5th of each month).

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of Archaeology Blogging or in my case the Good and the Meh.

The Meh

As of yet I have not really run into anything bad or ugly about with blogging. I have had a grand total of three troll-like comments on all my posts. In each case I replace the comment with “This comment has been removed for being rude” and leave the name/contact details. I figure if someone wants to use my blog as a broadcast platform for sludge than I will return the favor and use it to broadcast that they are a jerk. Like I have said, I have only had to do this three times when people go beyond simply disagree to being trolls.

I have not been fired for blogging. No death threats. No YouTube style commenting, even the three rude comments I have replaced are pretty tame compared to YouTube comments. As far as I can tell it has not harmed my job prospects, even though I can get ranty at times. Maybe it has but no one has told me so, ignorance is bliss I guess. Over all my “bad” experiences have been pretty much meh.

The Good

Well this has turned into a much longer list than I expected:

  • Getting jobs- Alright, so I haven’t got a job specifically because I blog but it has helped me get jobs were one of the criteria was experience blogging. It has allowed me to check that social media/blogging experience on applications.
  • Getting cited- several of my blog posts have been cited in peer reviewed papers. It is nice to know that some people find the research I do of value.
  • “Meeting” other archaeology bloggers. I say meeting as much as one meets someone in cyber space. Following others work and making comments starts to build an online relationship which can lead to other opportunities. For me this has lead to participating in the CRM podcast.
  • Posts to Longer Posts to Articles: blogging serves as a sort of first draft for most of my work. It gives me a chance to put my ideas “down on paper”, at least a digital form of paper. It helps me clarify ideas, work out what I want to say, and get feedback from the occasional person who comments. Many of these posts I then attempt to turn into longer articles.
  • Getting known- pretty much now at ever conference I attend I now have at least one person ask me, “Are you Doug of Doug’s Archaeology?”. This is a bit of good and a bit of bad. I am never quite sure how to respond to this. I don’t know if when people say that it is because they like my blog or hate it.
  • Opportunities- I have been asked to write articles on some of the subjects I cover in this blog.

Overall, I have had pretty much nothing but good experiences with blogging.

Posted in: Uncategorized