Hello Traveller of the Internet

Posted on March 19, 2011

0


So yeeaaahhh…. This is my first blog post so please bear with me. I guess I’ll start with why blogging?

  1. I recently stumbled across Publishing Archaeology blog. I have to say it has been quite the inspiration. Well thought-out and incredibly insightful discussion about different aspects of archaeology. On this site Michael Smith, the author, had links to other blogs some I found interesting and some whose content was not for me. Yet, even if the content was not for me the writing was. I always thought of blogs as a sort of diary and I for one never liked diaries. This was not the case, most of these blogs were well researched and presented stimulating discussions, information, opinions, thesis, etc.  In fact, dare I say it, they were better and more useful then 95-99% of “research papers” I have read. So you could say I was a bit inspired.
  2. Practice, practice, practice…. I will be first to say that my writing…. yeah not that great, especially my spelling. So I am using this blog as a sort of practice. It will be a way for me to get better with my writing.
  3. I need a website. This provides me with the ability to create a personal website for free.
  4. Interaction- Not sure how this will work but I am hoping that this will get me out of my small academic world. I hope to expose my ideas to others and hopefully me to other people’s ideas.

So that’s it, my reasons for starting this blog. We’ll have to see were this goes.

Posted in: Uncategorized