Blogging Carnival- Why I am a horrible horrible Boy Scout

Posted on March 23, 2011

1


So to back track in the blogging Carnival, which I am very late to, the questions discussed for week 3 was “the risks you take as a blogger”. There were many great responses.  I did not think I would have anything to contribute to this topic since I just started blogging a few days ago. Wow how things change in 24 hrs. My daily views went like this 5, 11, 10, 875!!!!!. In the last 18 hrs. I have received over a 1000 views. This was because I blogged about the unfortunate health problems that Lewis Binford was facing and it picked up steam pretty quick.

The Boy Scout’s motto is “be prepared” and, I’ll be honest, I was wilfully under prepared for this sort of traffic. I only started blogging a few days ago and so my pages are horribly under developed. My CV was cut and pasted from several CV’s I have put together over the last few years so it is in both British and American spelling, not to mentioned filled with holes.I am slowly fixing things but I have a lot on my plate at the moment.

Also, one of the main reasons I started this blog was to get back into the habit of writing. I had to take a job delivering carpets, to pay the bills, which took up a ridiculous amount of my time. I would have to say that before this blog, other than my name and the occasional email, I had not written a single thing in about 3 months. Needless to say my grammar and spelling leaves lots of room for improvement. As someone pointed out in my About Me page. I am an archaeologist not an archaeologist(s) plural? What?

The list goes on and on about what I was hoping my site would look when people actually started to visit it and what it is now. I expected it to be at least a year before I even broke a hundred visits a day, if I ever did.

So did this cause any lasting damage to my reputation and future career prospects? Probably not????? Actually, it is more a hope that people realized that I am just starting blogging and this site is really rough around the edges. Even then people might hold that against me, I don’t know.

Even if it does cause lasting damage to my career I still think this experience is a good thing. The best way to learn anything is to make mistakes or watch other people make mistakes. Now is the time to do it too: I won’t get fired from any jobs because of this mistake, I won’t be applying for any jobs any time soon (people forget after a while), it will make me more employable in the future if I need to do blogging for a job (I made mistakes so you employer x won’t have to), and no one died because of what I said.

If you are reading this, and in the future you want to blog, learn from my mistake. Be polished before you put up a website you never know when you will go viral.

So I have to go to work now and don’t have a lot of time to thoroughly proofread this. Which probably is not helping my case in the least bit. But after sat. I will have time and go back through and clean up my pages… hopefully.

Posted in: Wildcard