Posted on August 3, 2012

0


Great piece on putting in proposals and low bids

Archaeology in Tennessee

For the past 30 years, I have worked for scientific consulting firms.  Some of those firms, such as Battelle Memorial Institute and Oak Ridge Associated Universities, were internationally known “think tanks” like the Rand Corporation out in California.  Some of my other companies were very small with as few as three or four employees.  With all consulting companies, the life blood of the organization is the contract, and the vehicle for obtaining a contract is the proposal.  I have been involved in writing proposals to get new work for my assorted companies and reviewing proposals submitted by companies that wanted to do subcontract work for my companies.  Based on personal experience, I would guess that every person who has ever worked in a consulting business has their own set of personal thoughts and opinions about the proposal process.  It is certainly possible to paint the subject with a brush that…

View original post 995 more words

Posted in: Uncategorized