Censors on Campus- The Open Access Backlash

Posted on September 14, 2012

0


I was recently asked to write an article for the Index on Censorship special issue about censorship of academia. Specifically, I was asked to write about the AIA’s stance against Open Access ( I blog about it here and here and the boycott I organized here). Being as fair as I could stayed away from the controversy over the issue and focused on why the AIA or any society would come out against Open Access.

As the article is about Open Access it is OA and can be seen here- http://www.indexoncensorship.org/2012/09/the-battle-for-open-access/

It is under a creative commons license so feel free to re-post wherever you want, don’t forget to cite though. One thing that did not make it into the online version but did into the print was a table of how much societies make from publishing. I think that drives home my point perfectly. So I will be posting it here in the next couple of hours.

 

Posted in: Publishing